Problems booting up the module.

Post your RTL8710 based projects and build logs here
victorconka
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:58 pm

Problems booting up the module.

Postby victorconka » Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:04 pm

Hi,
I've recently bought RTL-00 to play around and I can't get to boot the module.
Not sure if it's a hardware or software problem, or maybe I'm just doing something wrong.
At first the module would just show me the message

Code: Select all

[B&T_IOT_RTL8710] ######### NOT B&T FIREWARM CHECK FAILED!!! ##############

If i'd write a lot through the console, I would eventually get the message :

Code: Select all

<<<Too long cmd string.>>>
.
Later I've accidentally shortened the chip_en pin, and the module rebooted and
I got a different message. The module seems to boot, but it doesn't fully boot.
It stops on the message:

Code: Select all

Initializing wifi...
.
After a long time the console maintains active but nothing is recieved from the keyboard.

Anything similar happened to someone or maybe someone knows whether it's a hardware o software related ?
Last edited by victorconka on Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kissste
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 3:43 am
Location: ON, Canada

Re: Problems booting up the module.

Postby kissste » Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:23 pm

1/ Make sure that you supply enough power. Add a capacitor.

2/ pull up CH_EN

and, you should be fine.

victorconka
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:58 pm

Re: Problems booting up the module.

Postby victorconka » Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:23 pm

@kissste,
Thank you for the suggestions.
I'm documenting my progress on github : https://github.com/vsobolyev/RTL8710, it's null though by far :lol:

I've used a pullup (4.7kOhm) resistor for the ch_en pin and a (104) capacitor.
The pullup acts as a switch and the chip wouldn't boot until I unplug the ground pin. Once it boots, the result is the same as before : the booting process stops with the message :"Initializing Wifi ...".
I've also tested the maximum current that the ftdi232 is able to deliver, it was abot 0.380Amps.

The current that the vcc pin withdraws is not always the same. It has two values 15 or 25 mAmps when the chip booted up, and 0.15mAmps when the ground pin is connected.
I've had a look at the datasheet and there are similar consuption values:
15 mAmps - modem-sleep,
0.9 mAmps - Light Sleep,
30 mAmps - not translated.
rtl00_mods.png
rtl00_mods.png (13.84 KiB) Viewed 1435 times


Return to “Projects and builds”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests